English

L'ÉTAT DU SYSTÈME DE NUMÉROTATION WADP (WNS)

ET DES CIRCULAIRES PHILATÉLIQUES DE L'UPU EN 2017

Victor MANTA, PWO

L'état du WNS en 2017

Sur le site de WNS nous apprenons que :

"Le site Web de WNS est donc un outil de référence et un contrôle, par omission, de timbres qui ont été délivrés illégalement et des étiquettes prétendant être des timbres. Le WNS est l'un des outils mis en place par l'UPU, aidant les Postes et le marché philatélique dans son ensemble à lutter contre ce problème".

S'il vous plait, noter le terme "par omission", ce qui signifie que tout timbre nin listé dans la base de WNS n'est pas légitimé. Cela présume que tous les timbres légaux sont inclus dans cette base. Un beau rêve qui s'est transformé en cauchemar ...

A ce jour, le WMS est très loin de cet achèvement, même si les travaux ont commencé le 1er janvier 2002. Je mentionne quelques raisons pour cette fâcheuse situation :

Les administrations postales (AP) d'Allemagne et des Pays-Bas ont refusè dès le début de participer au WMS. Cela n'a pas changé depuis.

Nous avons appris en 2014, à partir de la page UPU des Agences participantes que les agences des îles Aland (2012), la Belgique (2012) et de la Finlande (2013) ont arrêté l'enregistrement de leurs timbres.

D'autres pays n'ont pas envoyé de timbres pour l'enregistrement depuis longtemps. Juste quelques exemples : RP Chine (2014), Inde (2014), Liechtenstein (2012), Monténégro (2009), Mozambique (2006), Nigéria (2010), Pologne (2013), Singapour (2008), les Iles Salomon (2014), Togo (2007).


Illegaux de Croatie

Cela ne signifie que ces pays n'ont pas émi de timbres legaux. D'incroyables aberrations ont été découvertes par le passé . Par exemple,les îles Salomon ont émis en 2015, via son agent officiel Stamperija, 800 timbres différents et 200 feuilles miniatures (MS). Ce matériel est répertorié dans le catalogue Scott et autres mais pas sur la WNS.

Un pays qui n'est pas répertorié sur la WMS a néanmoins légalement émis en 2015, par le même agent, plus de 800 timbres différents et plus de 200 feuillets. Pour plus d'informations sur les deux émmisions, consultez cette page.

Même s'il l'effort est onéreux, l'administration postale ayant à payer des millions de francs suisses (pour chaque enregistrement les administrations postales doivent payer 50 CHF), les grands vides dans la base de données du WNS le rendent bien évidemment impropre pour identifier les timbres légaux.

Les activités de marketing pour l'utilisation de WNS, qui ont été inventées plus tard, ressemblent à des prétextes pour justifier ses coûts exorbitants.

L'état des circulaires philatéliques de l'UPU (2017)

En 1996, l'IB de l'UPU a commencé à publier sur son site les circulaires dites « Philatéliques » de l'UPU, principalement pour lutter contre les les émissions illégales. Ce site contient les dénonciations faites depuis 2003 par les AP des différents pays auprès de l'l'UPU, concernant les timbres illégaux émis sous leur nom mais sans leur approbation.

En utilisant ce moyen de nombreux timbres illégaux ont pu être identifiés, par exemple par l'Observatoire philatélique mondial, au New York World Stamp Show 2016.


Illegaux de Kiribati

Soudainement, en 2016, les Circulaires de 2015 à 2016 n'étaient plus accessibles librement sans mot de passe. Pour cette raison, le PWO s'est plaint par courrier électronique en octobre 2016 à M. Louse Virgile, alors responsable des activités philatéliques de l'UPU. Ci-après, sa réponse du 18/10/2016 :

"En ce qui concerne les circulaires dénonçant les produits illégaux, je vous confirme qu'elles ne sont malheureusement plus accessibles à tout un chacun. C'est pourquoi nous allons prochainement changer de système et publier ces circulaires sur le WNS , avec si possible un rappel sur le site de l'UPU. La question est en train d'être étudiée et devrait aboutir rapidement".

Parce que nous avons noté en avril 2017 que trois nouvelles circulaires étaient disponibles sur le site du WNS, mais toutes les anciennes circulaires sur le site de l'UPU n'ont étés plus consultables sans un mot de passe, ce qui les rendaient inutilisables par les collectionneurs mondiaux, nous avons demandé par courrier électronique à M. Vigile d'informer à nouveau la PWO au sujet de l'accessibilité future de ces circulaires.

Par une réponse automatique, nous avons appris que M. Vigile avait cessé ses fonctions et que nous devions transmettre notre requête à son assistant, ce que nous avons fait immédiatement. La réponse est venue rapidement 2 jours après (merci !) :

"En effet le système a été adapté et votre demande est pertinente. Je suis à la recherche dans quelle mesure je vais en cours vers les circulaires philatéliques 2003-2016 disponibles sur le site du WNS ». Stéphane Cuennet, Programme adjoint Philatélie et IRC, Secrétariat de la WADP.

Récapitulons . Au cours des sixderniers mois, le problème n'a pas été vraiment étudié et résolu, comme cela nous a assuré l'ancien responsable, M. Virgile. Comme le dit M. Cuenned, il va maintenant engager une réflexion afin de voir comment résoudre cette fâcheuse situation crée par sa propre équipe. Connaissant depuis de nombreuses années l'inertie de l'équipe philatélique, cela n'augure rien du tout.

En attendant, pendant plus de 6 mois, les collectionneurs du monde entier, les jurys philatéliques, etc n'ont pu accéder au seul outil qui permet d'identifier des timbres illégaux. N'est-ce pas une honte pour des documents existants sur le site de l'UPU de les déprotéger temporairement ou de les copier/coller sur le site du WNS ?


Illegaux de Rwanda

Les timbres décreits sur cette page ont été extraits des trois circulaires publiées sur le site du WNS en 2017. Ces circulaires couvrent, comme d'habitude, qu'une petite partie des timbres illégaux émises années après années, par des auteurs qui n'ont été jamais identifiés.

Tout le monde se plaint mais personne n'agit pour les identifier et juger ces auteurs devant les tribunaux. Ceci devrait être possible avec le Protocole d'accord et de collaboration entre Interpol et l'UPU, signé par les deux organisations le 29 avril 1997, il y 20 ans ... Mais comme d'habitude, l'UPU affectera cette responsabilité sur les Administrations Postales, et vice-versa. Les perdants de ce jeu sont les collectionneurs philatéliques et leur merveilleux passe-temps !

A propos de l'auteur. Victor Manta est le fondateur et le président actuel du PWO. Il s'intéresse principalement aux timbres thématiques (topiques) et à la philatélie sur Internet. Ses sites philatéliques ont été multiples dans les sites de compétitions philatéliques. Il est également un journaliste philatélique connu, qui a publié de nombreux articles philatéliques sur le web et dans des magazines imprimés.


Published: May 9, 2017. Last update: May 14, 2017.

This page is not copyrighted. Please specify the source (link) when using its contents.

Francaise

THE STATE OF THE WADP NUMBERING SYSTEM (WNS)

AND OF THE UPU PHILATELIC CIRCULARS IN 2017

Victor MANTA, PWO

The state of the WNS in 2017

From the WNS website we learn as follows:

„The WNS website is therefore a reference tool and a control, by omission, of stamps that have been issued illegally and labels that are claimed to be stamps. The WNS is one of the tools the UPU has introduced, helping the Posts and the philatelic market as a whole to combat this problem.”

Please notice the wording “by omission ”, which means that any stamp that is not listed in the WNS database is not a legitimate one. This presumes that all legitimate stamps are included in this database. A beautiful dream that turned into a never ending nightmare…

As of the date of writing, the WMS completeness is far from being achieved, even if the works on it started on January 1st , 2002. I mention some reasons for this unfortunate situation:

•  The major postal administrations (PA) of Germany and The Netherlands declined from the very beginning to participate in the WMS. This didn't change since.

•  We learned in 2014, from the UPU page of Participating Agencies that the PA of Aland Islands (2012), Belgium (2012) and Finland (2013) stopped the registration of their stamps.

•  Other countries didn't send stamps for registration for a long time. Just some examples: P.R. of China (2014), India (2014), Liechtenstein (2012), Montenegro (2009), Mozambique (2006), Nigeria (2010), Poland (2013), Singapore (2008), Solomon Island (2014), Togo (2007).


Illegals from Croatia

This doesn't mean, of course, that these countries don't issue legitimate postal stamps. We discovered in the near past even some incredible aberrations. For example, the small Solomon Island issued only in 2015, through its official agent Stamperija, 800 different stamps and 200 miniature sheets (MS). This material is listed in the Scott catalogue but not on the WNS.

A country that is not listed at all on the WMS nevertheless legally issued only in 2015, through the same agent, over 800 different stamps and over 200 MS. For more information on both mentioned stamp issues please visit this page .

Even if it is a very expensive endeavor, that costs the participating PA millions of Swiss Francs (for the registration of each stamp the PA must pay to the UPU the amount of CHF 50.00), the mentioned large holes in the WNS database make it obviously improper for the identification of illegal stamps. The marketing activities for the usage of WNS, that were invented later, look like pretexts found to justify its exorbitant costs.

The state of the UPU Philatelic Circulars (2017)

In 1996, the IB of the UPU begun publishing on its site the so-called UPU Philatelic Circulars, mainly to fight against the illegal issues. This site contains the denouncement made since 2003 by the PA of different countries to the UPU about illegal stamps issued in their name but without their approval.

By using this tool many illegal stamps could be identified in time, for example by the Worldwide Philatelic Observatory at the New York World Stamp Show 2016.


Illegals from Kiribati

Suddenly in 2016 the Circulars from 2015 - 2016 weren't accessible anymore without a password. For this reason, the PWO complained by email in October 2016 to Mr. Louse Virgile, the then manager of the UPU philatelic activities. Here is his answer of 10/18/2016 (free translation from French):

"As far as the circulars about illegal products are concerned, I can confirm that they are unfortunately no longer accessible to everyone, so we will soon change the system and publish these circulars on the WNS, with a reminder on the UPU website. The issue is being studied and should be completed quickly. "

Because we noticed that in April 2017 three new Circulars become available on the WNS site but all old Circulars on the UPU site couldn't be accessed anymore without a password, what made them unusable for the worldwide collectors, we asked by email Mr. Vigile to inform again the PWO about the future accessibility to these Circulars.

Thanks to an automatic response we learned that Mr. Vigile retired and that we should contact his assistant, what we immediately did. The answer (in French, free translation) came after just two days (thanks!):

“Indeed, the system has been adapted and your request is relevant.
I will look at the matter and see how far I can make the philatelic circulars 2003-2016 available on the WNS website.”
Stéphane Cuennet, Assistant Programme Philately and IRC, WADP Secretariat.

Let us summarize. In the six passed month the problem wasn't really studied and solved, as assured us the now retired Mr. Virgile. According to Mr. Cuenned, he will start reflecting now how to solve an unfortunate situation that his own team created . Knowing for years the UPU philatelic team inertia, the whole doesn't look promising at all.

Meanwhile for over six months the stamp collectors worldwide, the philatelic jurors, etc., cannot access the only tool that allows identification of illegal stamp issues. Isn't this a shame that it takes so long, for documents that already exist on the UPU website, to either (temporarily) remove their protection or quickly copy/paste them to the WNS site?

UPDATE Nov. 2017: The UPU Circulars 2003 - 2017 are still NOT accessible on the UPU website.


Illegal from Rwanda

The stamps featured on this page were extracted from the three Circulars published on the WNS site in 2017. These Circulars cover, as usually, only a small part of the illegal stamps issued year after year, by never identified perpetrators.

Everybody complains but nobody does something to identify them and to bring them before the courts. This should be possible thanks to the Memorandum of Understanding and Collaboration between Interpol and the UPU, signed by both organizations on April 29, 1997, which means 20 years ago. But, as usually, the UPU will push the responsibility toward the Postal Administrations, and vice-versa. The losers in this game are the stamps collectors and their wonderful hobby!

About the author . Victor Manta is the founder and the current president of the PWO. He is mostly interested in thematic (topical) stamps and in the philately on the Internet. His philatelic sites were multiple awarded in web sites philatelic competitions. He is also a well-known philatelic journalist, who published numerous philatelic articles on the web and in printed magazines.


Published: May 4, 2017. Last update: Nov. 5, 2017.

This page is not copyrighted. Please specify the source (link) when using its contents.